top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Boncodin

Christine: Filipino SEA Teacher

The first time we formally met the students was on September 9, 2019. We went to MTs and met our cooperating teachers. They then accompanied us from room to room to introduce ourselves and our purpose. The students were all very welcoming and respectful (they always do "salim"). They were curious and wanted to approach and talk to us. Even if most of them only know a few words they would always greet us and call our names. As they are students, there are still some who are naughty and would call on us just to seek attention and then laugh with their friends. It was very disconcerting not to know if they were laughing at me.


The first time I had a formal teaching activity was in the morning of September 10. It was ajoint effort with my co-SEA Teacher Jelyn. We taught about nouns. We prepared a lesson plan and created tangible instructional materials. I was a nervous wreck but the teaching activity went well. Our cooperating teacher (Bu Iin) then gave us feedback after. I was thankful for the feedback \because I can apply to my next teaching activities.


On Tuesday afternoon though, I was transferred to SMA (senior high school). I didn't want to leave MTs but I also didn't want to complain and give them a negative impression. I just hoped for the best. Since it was my first time there, I had to again introduce myself and tell them about the purpose of why I was there. The next day, I asked my cooperating teacher (Bu Febri) what lesson I needed to prepare but she said just to share about the culture of the Philippines. So for the next to weeks, I got to meet all the classes in SMA and shared about Philippine national symbols, our heroes, the tourist destinations, our food, I even sang the national anthem (they didn't hate my voice :p). I got to meet so many students I couldn't keep track of their names. While teaching them about Philippine culture, I also got them to teach me about Indonesia. I asked about their heroes, why they like spicy food(its part of their identity). They suggested songs and movies that I needed to see. The students were also very generous not hesitating to share food.


I didn't get to teach on the third week because it was examination week. They had 1 week to finish the exams but it is only in the morning. at around 11 o'clock the students are dismissed and they come the next day. They have 3 subjects per day. I had the whole week free so I used it to go around campus and check out the facilities.


On September 30, I conducted my final demo teaching. I taught the XII MIA 1 class English. The topic was quoted and reported speech. it started okay with me leading with a game. It was very interactive and by the noise and smiles I think they it enjoyed it. The challenge was when it was time explain the lesson, most of the students lost interest because they understand very little English, I tried to translate but I also knew very little Indonesian. My cooperating teacher had to intervene and translate some of the lesson. It was difficult to say the least but I endured and finished it.


My experience in Indonesia will never be forgotten. I am thankful that I got the chance to join the SEAMEO SEA Teacher project.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page