top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Boncodin

New friends and a second family

I never expected to connect with so many people. Even if we came from different backgrounds we didn't find it difficult to be friends. This blog is for my friends who have become a second family to me.


The teachers in MTs and SMA always made me feel comfortable. There was a language barrier but they always smiled and tried to start conversations. They were vocal in their interest to learn English. I am very thankful that the people I met in Indonesia were all very accommodating, generous, warm and kind.


They wanted to get to know me and asked many questions, in return they also shared about themselves and their families. I was often given food and asked if I already ate, if that isn't caring I don't know what is. I even had the chance to visit the house of one of the teachers from SMA. Indonesians are not very different Filipinos, they also value family, education and respect diversity. The major difference is brought on by the difference in our religions. They value religion too so they abide by the commandments of their religion.


We respect each others differences and celebrate our similarities so it was not very hard to become close to them. I will surely miss all the people I met and hopefully they remember that once they got to me too.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page