top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristine Boncodin

Start of the school year

Updated: Sep 25, 2019

This summer, seeing as the cost of travelling is getting higher, my family had again made a practical decision to do "staycation". Not that it was uneventful, I did get an opportunity to visit the some tourist destinations of Albay. Mostly, we spent the summer, doing laundry. With all the practice I've had doing laundry, you can say that if my career as a teacher does not pan out, I can definitely make a living as a laundress. I wanted to go back to school to escape from monotony of doing house chores.

Our university implemented a new academic calendar, and for the first time, we started school in August. Even though I was happy to escape doing house chores day in - day out, I was not very excited to start the new academic year. School can sometimes be very routinary, and activities are repetitive. We had to attend the orientation program for freshmen students, and little did I know that this was the day that I would receive the news that will lead me on a new adventure.

During the orientation program, students were told of an exchange program to Indonesia, and whoever would be interested would just need to go in for the screening interview. I immediately took the chance to be interviewed and as they say the rest is history...

I created this blog, to share with you guys my adventures in the land called 'the emerald of the equator'. So I hope you stay tuned and read all the new stories that I will post here during my one month stint as a SEATeacher in Indonesia.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page